Finding Opportunities

For everyone who is just getting started now, I highly recommend you read my post called “Square 1,” because it details some of what I will be talking about today. If you have already done that, then you know I promised to talk about “Internet Crossover Marketing.” This comes a little bit later. First I want to talk about finding opportunities and making your own luck.

Today in APUSH, AP United States History, we were talking about when the frontier was officially closed and what that meant for all the opportunity seeking Americans who still wanted a second chance, but now didn’t have the same ability to just move westward. Right away, this notion struck me as very relevant to my new blog because it is very similar scenario.

So let’s imagine the internet as the new frontier for opportunity because it really is in many ways. You have two options: the first is that you could keep traversing across the internets many platforms heading west. This comes to represent developing new codes, technologies, programs, and websites. Just like in American history you have two types of people doing this. There is the poor farmer type, or in this case the people who are not particularly privileged, but have the work ethic and have somehow gained the Know-how to make this happen. The other type of expander are the huge mining and farmer corporations, which come to represent the people who have obtained money and power through some method; Either personal wealth or previous successes or a loan or some form of venture capitalism. These are the people who have the necessary tools to be successful and maybe already are successful. However, regardless of which side of the coin these two groups are on, these people were here first.

Now where does that leave the vast majority of us, who maybe weren’t old enough or missed the first boat, but would still like to settle west, metaphorically that is.

We are left with a few options: we have the Know-how to settle west and don’t need any help (the tech savvy ones), we have the money to settle west and try to expand our wealth, or maybe we don’t need to settle west at all.

My friends, that brings us to where I am today. In the future I do hope to start some apps and online companies, but right now I understand I have no need to settle west. Why would I try to grow and expand another City (the west essentially), when I have all the tools to be successful in front of me. All you need is the internet and a search engine. By doing this you can find opportunities in your own area whether it be a part time job at an actual location or some form of work entirely online.

If you look hard enough for an opportunity you will find one, and it may not be right for you, and it may not be what you were looking for originally, but if you want something bad enough you have to be willing to start somewhere. Luckily, I found something just right for me, but it was not on the first try. Furthermore, when I say “luckily” that has to be taken very seriously, but also with a light tone. I believe people make their own luck, so yes it was lucky I found what led to “My Plan” but on the other hand I was doing hours of research every night, so it wasn’t as much chance as it may seem. I put myself into a position to receive some luck and that is the best thing to do. Luck rarely comes out of nowhere, there is usually some basis for the chain of events that lead up to something “lucky” happening.

Finally, time to reveal my secret plan. Essentially, if you’ve ever seen those annoying “get rich by working at home” sort of things then you have probably wondered is this real? and how? I eventually stumbled on what they really are talking about, and it is called affiliate programs.

As an affiliate you get paid a commission by the company you are advertising for by selling items or subscriptions or even just directing people to a company’s site. Now how does this tie into my whole plan, well I don’t need a cent to do this. However, I don’t have the money (yet) to advertise a ton online and make lots of money by doing that, but I do have a community filled with small and medium sized businesses that I can drive to and sell a product in person. This is “Internet Crossover Marketing.” It’s the concept of taking something from the internet and selling it in person. For Example, my dad is a doctor, and he knows a ton of doctors. If I go to some of them and pitch them a product or a website that they can buy equipment from and they buy it, I have effectively sold them something valuable without having to have any capital to buy what I am selling in the first place. Kind of like a modern age door to door salesman. That’s part of the crossover, but it doesn’t stop there, if I can now advertise on that companies website, I have effectively gone from online to in person and then back to online again, and that is just through one sale.

Stay tuned, Stay Classy, and Stay Hungry.

-Jordan

Leave a Reply

